Real Monsters: A Book Review

My name is Jason Korbus.  I am 30 years old, have been interested in the paranormal as long as I can remember, and even host an internet radio show in my spare time.  But I’ve never been afraid of monsters until I read Brad Steiger’s new book.

Aptly titled, “Real Monsters, Gruesome Critters, and Beasts From the Darkside,” starts with a very simple premise.  Based on a 2001 study conducted by researchers at Cal State, we have a pretty good idea of the movies and monsters that have scared people over time.  But if regular people are scared of The Exorcist, Dracula, and Godzilla, what are paranormal researchers scared of?  The answer runs the gamut from Bigfoot and Mothman to Werewolves and the Dover Demon, with a seemingly endless variety of horrifying creatures in between.  And it is that scare factor which makes Steiger’s newest book both a thrill-a-minute page turner, and among the most terrifying things I have ever read.

If you dare, read true witness accounts of Big Cats, a phenomena of a Fortean variety which finds the large felines stalking prey in Iowa, and other locations across the globe where they simply do not belong.  Black Dogs as well, who some say foretell disaster, make an eerie appearance.  Perhaps nothing may be more paralyzing than staring into the glowing eyes of one of these beasts, particularly when one has found their way into your very own backyard.

Steiger also moves into the lore of the Bogeyman, though, not one to write about childish fantasies, horrifies you by uncovering the origin of the term.  Then, before you know it, sweeps you into a whirlwind of first-person ghastly encounters with these bizarre entities that leave you breathless and nearly afraid to blink your eyes for fear of what you may miss.  Is that noise outside your bedroom door just the house settling as you’ve always believed?  Or is something much more sinister stalking you from beyond our realm?

What makes Steiger such a treasured author and this book a personal bookshelf necessity is its sheer volume of resources.  The astounding amount of information included about all the creatures, particularly zombies, vampires, and even UFO abductors, could easily cause someone to buy multiple books on each topic just to find it all.  But “Real Monsters, Gruesome Critters, and Beasts From the Darkside,” provides it for you in a veritable “one stop shop” of all things morbid and grotesque that lurk in the dark corners of our mind, and in the shadows just around the corner.

Yes, my name is Jason Korbus.  I am 30 years old, have been interested in the paranormal as long as I can remember, and even host an internet radio show in my spare time.  And though Brad Steiger may have made me scared of monsters, you and I both know they aren’t real, right?  ….Right?

 

About Jason Korbus
Friend, family member, possible werewolf. I co-host Strange Frequencies Radio, blog at Confidential Korbus, and generally walk among the weird. When I'm not doing busywork, I can usually be found with my nose in a book, my eyes glued to a glowing screen, or my ears tuned to The Ramones.

3 Responses to Real Monsters: A Book Review

  1. Rachel says:

    I am Rachel Wolf. I am 26 years old. And this review just creeped the Hell out of me.

  2. Jason Korbus says:

    I love it.

  3. Gates says:

    Im 32 and also a fan of cryptids and the unknown. I found you page while looking for a book I had as a child titled “Real Monsters” it had everything from “Ogo Pogo” to the “Flatwoods Monster”( I’m from West Virginia). I just wanted to let you know of another “one stop shop” book. It is called “The Werewolf Book” by Brad Steiger. It cover much much more then werewolves and sites all sources (some ancient). But thanks for introducing me to this book!

Leave a Reply

