New Worm Like Creature or Hoax?

Today I was on a website called Cryptomundo, which is a site is dedicated to everything cryptozoologically related.  I saw something that quickly caught my eye, a post titled Russian What-is-it?   As soon as I opened the post I saw a couple photos of this possible “unknown” species.

The story goes that someone was walking through a meadow near a pond in Russia, when they encountered this creepy little armored worm looking creature. The claim is that it was about 5 centimeters long and had no noticeable eyes or head. The person thought it might be a severed lizard tail, but then witnessed it moving in a jerky fashion. So this individual touched it and it stopped moving. When the person removed their hand its continued moving in the same direction. Also the bottom of this “unknown” creature is darker and smoother then the top side.

Now, after reading this encounter story I noticed a few red flags to make me think this is a hoax. First of all this individual claims to have seen this weird possible unidentified worm like creature, this person didn’t think of , oh I don’t know, taking it with them? You know, keep it for to see if it’s identifiable or if not you have the body of a new specimen? This individual also claims to have seen this thing moving around and thought it may be a severed lizard tail. Now, you may think I am going make a criticism about the severed tail moving, but what I’m really thinking is why the hell would anyone want to touch a severed lizard tail? Now the individual claims its smoother on the bottom then the top, but makes no claim of picking it up, only touching the top. The account also states that this worm like creature went on moving in the same direction. If you look at the picture carefully the creature is turned around in the second picture, meaning it wasn’t moving in the same direction. To me this is a huge red flag and it means it was probably put there and hoaxed an individual. Also, there is no slithering like tracks in the loose soil.

I painstakingly read through the comments to the original post and saw the many claims that this creature may be the legendary Death Worm.

Figures, if you put “unknown” in the beginning of a picture, many people are going to assume it’s legit and start making ridiculous postulations.  A couple people said it could possibly be firefly larva. 

Now at least firefly larvae are real, but I was highly shocked that the majority of people commenting didn’t announce the obvious: THIS IS A HOAX.

Article and photographs can be seen here:
http://www.cryptomundo.com/cryptozoo-news/ru-it/

About Bobby the Paranormal Skeptic
Bobby Nelson is a skeptic, writer, and co-host of Strange Frequencies Radio. His personal blog can be found online at www.porkrhine.com At one time, Bobby was what could be called a "true believer" in paranormal phenomenon. Having been an active investigator of the paranormal for 12 years with several different Toledo based teams, he has examined countless claims of activity. But years worth of research and investigation proved to him that the evidence for these claims are generally lacking and, furthermore, the vast majority of so-called scientific paranormal investigators were using improper methodologies which caused them to draw both false and misleading conclusions.

9 Responses to New Worm Like Creature or Hoax?

  1. Jason Korbus says:

    Dammit, just believe.

  2. Stephanie says:

    This is not a hoax. I have them on my carport in Louisiana. I first saw one when my cat was playing with it. I thought it looked prehistoric. I don’t know what it is and I was searching the web to find out when I stumbled on the pic you have on here. I can send pics of more like it, but it looks exactly like the pic you posted.

  3. Olivia says:

    I do after school care and one of my students told me about this worm she wanted to show me. The student as well as teachers she asked during recess do not know the name of it but it also looks like this picture. I told my student I would try to do some research on it for her and this is the only page I have really come across. She found them on the school grounds living in mostly dry dirt. We are from Northwest Indiana. Would love to tell my student what it is so please if you hear anything else on this please let me know. thank you ozam88@gmail.com

  4. Eugene says:

    I work at a golf course in Utah, and I see them all the time on greens, in my search to identify them, this is the only place I’ve been able to find.

  5. jesse d says:

    This is the soldier fly larva indigenous to the southern states

  6. Kim says:

    This is not a hoax I just found one in my yard in Oklahoma!

  7. Morgan says:

    Not a hoax. Just really freaking irritating that i spent a billion years googling this dumb thing and your website is the only place I found it. My brother and I saw tons of these in a drainage ditch thing in Louisiana. They inch-worm in and out of the water, and when they’re submerged they stick their tail up like they’re using it to breathe. I didn’t touch it cuz I have no clue what it is. I took pics but I can’t identify the dumb things.

  8. Ali says:

    My friend just took a photo of something that looks exactly like this. There were lots of them. The biggest ones were about an inch and a half long, and they were all over the golf course in North Mississippi. I was trying to find out what they were, and this is the only place I could find a photo that looked like the creature he photographed. He took the photo to the County Extension office to see if they could identify it. They said they would get back to him in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

