More Unknown Nonsense

“I was hiking with my dog about 6 miles northeast of Chaco Canyon in northwestern New Mexico. I was carrying water, my still camera, some food, a compass, a knife and my phone (which had no service in that area). I never traveled through this remote desert before and I hoped to capture some photos of the spectacular landscape. I saw the incredible carcass after we hiked about 2 1/2 hours and were about to turn around to head back to the truck. My dog wouldn’t go near it, which was unusual, as he always finds dead animals eagerly and I have to call him off.

I began to take a picture and the battery died after I snapped one frame. It was fully charged when I left that morning. I knew this was a significant find and I wanted to collect the specimen in lieu of the lack of photographic evidence to document the creature, but there was no way I could carry it back to the car. I decided I would come back with the means to do so, a large backpack with some ropes to tie it on with. As I couldn’t record the spot with my phone’s gps, I did my best to remember the spot and I marked the trail going back so I was sure I could retrace my steps.

I returned the next day with a friend from Taos, determined to bring the animal home. We easily found the trail that I had marked out the day before. It was gone. We couldn’t find a trace.

About the creature itself, it was much larger than any fox, more the size of a large coyote of wolf, about 48″ long. It had a pronounced and extremely long snout, like a tapir or platypus. The most unusual features were the bumps along the spine and the approx. 4-5 inch long “sabre-tooth”. I could see only a single one of these large fangs. The spine bumps seemed to extend out from the vertebra in line with the ribs. They had the same short dense fur that covered the body (definitely not the hairless mange dogs commonly referred to as chupacabra). It had some longer coarse hair on its haunches. Its feet were oddly shaped, more like hooves, but with the features of canid paws, toes and nails. Its legs were long and extended, especially the lower rear legs. The gaping hole in the ribcage was the only visible wound on the body and looking into it, I could see no remnant of any internal organs. There were no insects on the carcass.

I believe it is possibly a previously unclassified canine, perhaps distorted by the process of mummification. This was something extremely rare and unusual and I feel privileged to have seen and recorded it.”

 

I am always fascinated by these types of stories.  A hiker with absolutely no skills or academia in zoology or the anatomy and bone structure of animals, can easily be fooled when an animal starts to decay.  In this situation a hiker comes across an obvious and identifiable canid, but since the individual cannot identify the animal, it becomes unknown or unclassifiable.  This is typical in the world of the paranormal.  Individuals with no experience in certain fields of study (in this case zoology and anatomy) tend to correlate what they would consider anomalous into the category of the unknown, which quickly evolves into the paranormal.  In this report one of the anomalous body parts that this “unknown” animal possessed was a “saber-tooth”.   This saber-tooth is actually called a canine; it’s what is used by all dogs and big cats to rip up food and meat.  Below I will show a image of a coyote skull so you can get a look at the size of one of these canines. 

I am willing to bet that this animal is a coyote and though I may be wrong, I am absolutely sure of one thing, this animal is 100% identifiable.  It is not some unknown canid lurking in northwestern New Mexico.

http://www.unexplained-mysteries.com/viewnews.php?id=184687

About Bobby the Paranormal Skeptic
Bobby Nelson is a skeptic, writer, and co-host of Strange Frequencies Radio. His personal blog can be found online at www.porkrhine.com At one time, Bobby was what could be called a "true believer" in paranormal phenomenon. Having been an active investigator of the paranormal for 12 years with several different Toledo based teams, he has examined countless claims of activity. But years worth of research and investigation proved to him that the evidence for these claims are generally lacking and, furthermore, the vast majority of so-called scientific paranormal investigators were using improper methodologies which caused them to draw both false and misleading conclusions.

One Response to More Unknown Nonsense

  1. John Dockum says:

    Most definitely a coyote. Great illustration on how untrained people taking on the paranormal is cause for concern and skepticism. Just because ole Consuela has never seen a light like that in the sky before doesn’t mean it is paranormal. The first time I saw a B2 spirit bomber flying overhead I was struck with awe and wonder because it looked so alien to me and it did not fit into my paradigm of what types of things fly through the air. My mind knew it was a stealth bomber, but my psyche was baffled completely. The paranormal media does a terrible job of discerning which witnesses are worth their salt because ultimately, there is no money in interviewing logical people.

Leave a Reply

